30 Days Wild – Day 1 – Blue Tit Box and Bee Swarm

I signed up to The Wildlife Trusts’ 30 Days Wild. The idea is that you try to spend time with nature every day for the month of June. You can find out more here.
I thought it would be a great opportunity to spend more time frolicking with wildlife and also a great chance to get into the swing of things with my blog.
Day 1 consisted of briefly watching out for the visiting adult blue tits to the nest box in the garden, but I didn’t see any. I also talked to a lady I know about the bee hives in her neighbours’ garden.
She showed me a photograph of the swarm of bees that had migrated into her garden and taken up residence perched on a small branch of a tree. Apparently when there is more than one queen bee in a hive, the extra queen flees to look to start her own colony and some of the worker bees follow her.
The photograph showed a large mass of bees hanging from the tree in the same way a single droplet of water would hang from a twig. The whole mass was purely made up of thousands of bees – incredible. I had never seen anything like it before.

Leave a Reply

