Up close and personal with a squirrel. Big Butterfly Count. Autumn leaves. And a visit to the duck (and seagull) pond.

It’s been a while since I last posted. I keep meaning to write posts from my laptop so I can use photos from my camera instead of my phone, but I never get around to it. 

Since my last post, I have got up close with a squirrel who didn’t realise I was there. He was going about his daily business, running along a waist-height fence, and he didn’t realise I was sitting in the car that was parked right next to him. He soon noticed me though, and froze just long enough for me to snap a photo of him before he ran away. 

  
I took part in the Big Butterfly Count  that was running during July and August. It was run by the UK charity Butterfly Conservation to gauge the health of our environment, and involves looking out for butterflies for a 15 minute duration in a sunny place. During my count I only saw 3 butterflies in our garden – a Peacock, a large white and a Red Admiral. But afterwards I also saw a Holly Blue, and have seen a Brimstone and a Comma in our garden before. 

On my walk to the pond I enjoyed the colourful leaves that lined the path. It looked so pretty and of course I took a photo. 

  
At the pond it was so nice to stand and watch the ducks and seagulls sharing the water. There must have been at least 20 of each, along with a handful of coots and jackdaws. 

Some of the seagulls were swimming along in the water and I could just imagine their feet paddling underneath them as the bobbed along. It was so funny. Without realising it, it made me smile watching them bob along, and having a bath in the water. A few of them walked to the shallow water by the bank, with their skinny legs holding them up. Some of the ducks had their tails pointed towards the sky as they dipped down for a snack. 

  

The only thing that ruined the sights was the smell of car fumes from traffic that was building up as somebody had blocked the road. That’s one way to ruin the magic of nature!

Still on my list to do are:

  1. Place my small mammal footprint trap outside 
  2. Learn to take better photos of wildlife and nature 
  3. Read my wildlife photography books
  4. Visit the downs and take photos of the birds
Leave a Reply

