30 Days Wild – Day 3 – Live Cameras

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_03

Today I watched the Long Tailed Tits on the BBC Springwatch live camera online. They are one of my favourite garden birds – they almost look like a mouse in bird-form. They were so cute to watch – when the adult came to feed the chicks, it would only have enough food to feed one chick. It was funny to watch a second chick stick its head out with its beak wide open as if to say “Hey! Where’s my food?! I’m hungry!” I counted three chicks in the nest, and they look quite big already.

Image taken from the live cameras on the BBC website at http://www.bbc.co.uk/events/ezzbp6/live/cwfxn3

You can find the four live cameras online here. Click on Live Coverage to see them.

 
I also spotted a swift flying high up in the sky above me today with its boomerang-like outline. After the chat I had with my colleague yesterday, I was confident in identifying it, which felt great! A few minutes later I saw a group of them flying over – about 6 of them. That’s one more bird to add to the list that I can identify!

Leave a Reply

