30 Days Wild – Day 6 & 7 – Star Gazing & Gardening Supplies

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_06

Day 6 – Star Gazing

It was a clear night on day 6, so I decided to grab my tripod and my camera and take some long exposures of the stars at night. I was lucky enough to have been bought a night photography course as a gift which I did last year, so I put my knowledge into practice. I put my camera into manual mode and started snapping. It took a few attempts at changing the ISO, aperture and shutter speed, but I managed to get a couple of shots I like. I have no idea if there are any constellations here, but if anyone can spot any please let me know:

StarGazing2

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_07
Day 7 – Gardening Supplies

I went to the garden centre to buy some pots, seeds and plants for our balcony as it is currently a flora-free zone. I’ll be honest, I had no idea what compost to buy or which plants go well together, but I’m sure I can make something nice with what I bought. Before I went, I briefly researched bee-friendly plants so I had a rough idea of what to look out for: single, purple flowers are a good option. Some of the seed packets had a bee-friendly symbols on which was helpful.
My plan is to make our balcony as wildlife-friendly as I can with the limited space. Here are the supplies so far (plus a bag of compost):

I watched Springwatch again on days 6 and 7. The story that stood out the most was that of the single blue tit parent that has been feeding four great tit chicks thinking they are her own! It seems like the great tit eggs may have already been in the nest before the blue tit took it on, then she added her eggs to the batch. The great tit chicks were bigger than the blue tit chicks, and they survived over her own offspring and she continues to feed them as if they were her own. What an incredible story.

Leave a Reply

