30 Days Wild 2017 – Day 1 – Lunch by a Lake

It’s that time of year again! Today is day 1 of 30 Days Wild (created by The Wildlife Trusts) – exciting times! This is my third year of taking part, and I have definitely been looking forward to it. I was sad that I didn’t receive my pack in the post, and I almost forgot it was happening, I’ve been so busy lately. But I did remember, so here is what my Day 1 involved…

Today I had lunch by a lake with some colleagues. It was beautiful. The sun was shining, we were sensibly sitting in the shade, and I got to watch dragon flies and damsel flies flying over the lake, and occasionally fly past our table.
I recently researched the difference between the two – damsel flies hold their wings behind them when they land, whereas dragon flies hold their wings out to the side. The damsel flies I saw were a deep blue colour, and seemed to all be mating as they flew around in pairs attached to each other. The dragon flies had shorter, fatter bodies. 
Another character I saw was a coot with a cute, fluffy baby swimming alongside it, squeaking occasionally to ask for food. The parent was picking bits out by the rocks to feed the youngster. I would love to go back to the lake to take some proper photos on my camera.

Leave a Reply

