Days 6-8 – Plan a Wild Trip, Bug Rescue & Spring Watch

Day06

I have been researching into a wild trip. I want to see puffins and red squirrels, so I started looking into trips to see puffins. Last year my friend went to Skomer Island, off the coast of Wales, to take photos and it sounded awesome. I have been researching into the trip. It turns out the Wildlife Trust of South & West Wales has the details.

 

Boat trips only run 3 times a days, and only 250 people are allowed on the island per day to protect the envirnoment and habitat for the wildlife. Different wildlife you can see (depending on the time of year you visit) are:

  • Puffins
  • Dolphins
  • Porpoises
  • Seals
  • Guillemots
  • Razorbills
  • Rabbits
  • Short-eared owls

 

This sounds awesome! I might have to wait until next year to go, as my summer is getting full, and the best time to see the puffins between April and July.
Day 7 – Bug Rescue

At lunch time at work there were a few bugs that decided to fly in the door of the canteen and join our table. First of all, a bumblebee flew in and was buzzing by the window. Next was a green shield bug, then a tiny green beetle that ended up sitting on the table in front of me. My colleague wanted to squish it so I was the bug’s personal body guard and kept it safe. Eventually all the bugs flew outside, but I was ready to rescue them.
Day 8 – Watched Spring Watch & Hedgehog Video

Today I came across this hedgehog video – that’s twice I’ve seen this behaviour on video now. It made me laugh. I also watched Spring Watch on BBC2. It was heart-warming to watch the baby swallows being so well fed by the adults, and the peregrines adopting another chick that wasn’t theirs. My favourite was the stoat that was so agile as it jumped over tall grass to move her kits to a cleaner nest.

Leave a Reply

