Days 16-18 – Sunrise, Garden BBQ, Sun Prints – 30 Days Wild

Day 16 – Sunrise

Sunrise was at 4.22am. I happened to wake up in the night, so I thought I’d watch the sun rise – perfect timing. And it looked remarkably similar to sunset the previous night. 

Day 17 – Garden BBQ

The weather was so nice, so we had a family BBQ in the garden. It was nice that it was warm enough to sit outside and not feel cold. I took a moment to listen to the sounds – the water running in the pond, the various birds calling nearby, a bug flying right past my ear. One bug I had not seen before was the one in the photo below. It was a bit bigger than a blue bottle, and had a longer wing span than one too. It made a loud buzz when it flew around the window.

Day 18 – Sun Prints 

Firstly, while I was getting everything ready in the garden, I saw a hummingbird hawk moth for the first time! I couldn’t believe my eyes, it was so cool! I ran to grab my camera, but it had gone by the time I got back. 
To create sun prints, I used some Nature Print Paper. I gathered some items from the garden, such  as petals, leaves and grass, then placed them on the light sensitive paper. Once exposed to the sunlight for long enough, I soaked the paper in water to develop the image. Here are my results. The parts that worked the best were the dead wasp (at the bottom-middle of the bottom-right print) and a tri-leaf (top-right print, middle-right leaf).

The top-left print was the last one I did, and I think it got damp from grass dew, hence the colour is not as dark. Also the sun was low in the sky, which meant large shadows were created on the paper. Next time I will do them at midday to have the best result.

Leave a Reply

