Days 22-24 – Plastic Footprint, Moth ID, Squirrel Crime, Poem – 30 Days Wild

Day 22 – Plastic Footprint

I’ve been wanting to fill this out for a while; I finally did it. The Plastic Calculator by Greenpeace calculates how many items of plastic you use in a year. Mine came to 440. Not sure how good or bad that is, but I do use a re-filable drinks bottle, and tupperware when I can. Everyone must have plastic on the fruit and veg they buy, so that isn’t really avoidable!

Day 23 – Moth ID

We get a lot of moths in the flat, so I have been keeping a log of them. I have no idea what type of moth any of them are, but some are freakin’ cool; I like the furry white one. Here they are:



Day 24 – Squirrel Crime

My boyfriend told me about being witness to a squirrel murder – by two crows! He heard a squirrel scream in the tree outside, so looked out the window and saw said squirrel lying on its back on the ground. Two crows were in the tree and later were pecking at the squirrel and tried to move it, unsuccessfully. Who knows what really happened – squirrel murder mystery. 

Day 25 – Pen a Poem

I’m a bit rusty at writing poems, but here goes:

30 Days to go wild,

Most of the days have been mild.

A few have been very hot,

Keeping wild – I gave it a shot.

It’s exciting to see,

The wildlife in front of me,

Unexpectantly.

To my surprise, 

Looking through wild eyes,

I am now friends with our regular seed shop visitor,

Mr Chaffinch is inquisitive.

Mrs Chaffinch is more flighty,

They visit us, same time, nightly.

I actually mean during the day,

They look into our eyes as if to say,

“Thanks, friend, for providing lunch,

We like you both very much.”

4 thoughts on “Days 22-24 – Plastic Footprint, Moth ID, Squirrel Crime, Poem – 30 Days Wild

Leave a Reply

